Friday Check-in: Week 6

 

This week was full of graphic novels and some pretty atypical novel formats. I also did some spontaneous drafting and a speck of revision on #FairyPrisonBook.

But mostly I read a lot of graphic novels.

Green Star Reads for this week:

I finished VIOLENT ENDS, by Shaun David Hutchinson and a bunch of other people, and found it interesting. I’m a fan of diving into lots of different viewpoints around one event, so it was cool to see that playing out, not just from the perspective of different characters, but from different authors as well.

I tore through THE REST OF US JUST LIVE HERE, by Patrick Ness, and loved it as much as I’d suspected I would. Not just because I figured out the cover glows in the dark, either. It was great seeing a story worked around what would normally be the background characters, and the Chosen One’s story outlined in the chapter titles made me giggle so hard I wound up explaining the whole book’s premise to my very confused mother. I like seeing how Ness experiments with things… Back in high school, I really loved KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO, too. Now I really want to go find the sequels I never quite got to.

After finishing one book with two stories in one, it seemed like the perfect time to [finally] start AFTERWORLDS by one of my favorite authors, Scott Westerfeld. It’s been on my TBR shelf for far too long… Plus I’m all out of library books to distract me from the ones I own. Really excited to see how these two novels in one (a writer and her NaNo novel) play out.

When I say I whipped through a bunch of graphic novels this week, what I mean is: the second and third volumes of SOULLESS: THE MANGA, by Gail Carriger (fun and shippy, really enjoyed them, curious how it comes off in prose, especially re. world-building…and my ships), BAD ISLAND, by Doug TenNapel (fine, quick read, not as riveted as I was with other things), and the first four volumes of SAGA by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (when I described them to a friend: “These are vulgar and I’m enjoying them a lot”). I’m still figuring out a system for tracking graphic novels, fiddling with halves and guesstimates, but a more thorough breakdown of the page numbers is in the Sticker Tracking part of this post.

I also read for the textbook for my online class.

  • Soundtrack of the Week: My random playlists of Japanese music. Plus remixed versions of Undertale music that my little brother linked me to.
  • Go-to method of procrastination: Still playing League of Legends with K.T. Simpson and friends. Also, I started The Office on a whim, and I’m not even sure how I feel about it other than loving Jim and Pam and missing my time in Chicago (which was not like The Office, but it was…er…in an office). But Netflix is fine because I can practice dabbling in Japanese while watching things. Mostly.

Sticker Check-in

Week 6

CURRENT KEY

  1. Red – 1/2 hr revision (WEEK TOTAL:  1 hr)
  2. Blue – draft 500 new words (WEEK TOTAL: 2,500 words)
  3. Green – read 100 pages (WEEK TOTAL: 1400 pages – including graphic novels. Breakdown below)
  4. Gold – 1/2 hr studying Japanese (WEEK TOTAL:  7 hrs)
  5. Silver – blog post (WEEK TOTAL: 1)
  6. NOT PICTURED – I’m tracking exercise and adult-like responsibilities in a separate baby-sized calendar also courtesy of Easter Seals.(WEEK TOTAL FOR EXERCISE: 2 times).

Points of Note:

  • I drafted some new words this week, which was unplanned and not strictly necessary. I should be revising. But today I had a flash of inspiration on ways to rewrite an odd ghost story that I’d been content with, but couldn’t quite lay to rest (ha). I also wrote 1k of something random for an anthology I thought about submitting to, until that thousand words was lost to the void after a tragic blue screen error… So. Yeah. Not sure I’ll even attempt to redo those.
  • Like I said in the Green Star Reads section, this week involved a lot of graphic novels, which skews my count by a lot. The star stickers add up to about 1400 pages, which is a very rough estimate, halving the graphic novel page counts so it doesn’t feel like I’m cheating. The actual numbers should be more like 1,970 overall (give or take some from last week). 1,296 graphic novel pages / 2 = 648 + 828 normal book pages = 1,476.
  • If those feeble attempts at math weren’t enough for you, my total reading goal this year is 60 books. I’ve currently got two totals on my reading spreadsheet. The cheat number: 21 so far, and the actual, sans-graphic novels number: 11. So, I have 49 books to go unless I get discouraged and decide to count graphic novels after all, in which case I only need 39.

 

I still need to get back into revision more, and to a lesser extent drafting, but this week was a lot more productive than some of the weeks before… I’m curious how other people track reading graphic novels, if they do so at all. If you’ve got a suggestion, leave it in the comments!

Thanks for reading,

Allison

Leave a Reply

