Friday Check-in: Week 11 – New Season, New Haircut

Easing back into full productivity this mode, despite all the lures of Spring Break. Starting fresh with a new haircut of questionable quality (because I never know what I want, let alone how to ask for it in the language of hairdressers and fashionable people). One thing is certain: this haircut is shorter, and its ruffles change with a will of their own, free from any prompting by me.

Happy Spring, or something.

A few other miscellaneous things:

Last week I mentioned Lil Bro’s efforts to get me into (and better at) videogames. In keeping with that, he made me play through Undertale under his tutelage, which was both a delight and a struggle on my part. If you ever wanted to watch 17 Youtube videos’ worth of my face and voice, the full playlist is available under my livetweet sessions tab.

Also, you still have a few more weeks(?) to download UP AND COMING: STORIES FROM THE 2016 CAMPBELL-ELIGIBLE WRITERS, including my horror-fantasy tooth fairy short story, “Decay” (originally published and free to read at Crossed Genres) along with over 230 works by 120 other authors–over 1.1 million words of fiction, all for free.

Green Star Reads for this week:

This week I finished the ZOMBIES VS. UNICORNS anthology, spearheaded (omg unicorn pun) by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier, contributed to by two full teams of amazing authors. I came out the other side firmly Team Zombie, but not through any failing on Team Unicorn’s part. I just have a thing for stories of dead things, I guess, and even my childhood obsession with horses (and my own unicorn series rattling around in my baby-writer closet) could not overcome that.

I also read IF I EVER GET OUT OF HERE, by Eric Gansworth. I’d seen it recommended by many as an example of good Native American rep, and I really enjoyed it. I especially liked how the latter half built up this feeling of being 100% done with several different kinds of bull–a weary, wary kind of tension that gave me hints that something was coming. There was a certain point past which I was like, “No, yeah, I just have to finish the book now.”

I’m also about 15 pages into FALLOUT,  by S.A. Bodeen, AKA the sequel to THE COMPOUND, which I read years and years ago after getting it from a Scholastic book order, and then promptly forgot about until I saw this one in the library. I generally feel pretty good at remembering stories, character, plot, but pretty much all that stuck of Book 1 in this case was the threat of cannibalism and vague, narrow aspects of the ending. So getting back up to speed here will be an adventure.

  • Soundtrack of the Week: The Tricot radio station on Spotify (maybe someday I will learn enough Japanese to actually understand the lyrics) and more recently the Feel Good Indie Rock playlist, because why not?
  • Go-to method of procrastination: Dexter, League, running outdoors. And watching a friend experience the trauma of Madoka Magica for the first time (an ongoing process which may or may not wind up on my Livetweets page. Still deliberating).

Sticker Check-in

2016-03-18 18.54.30

CURRENT KEY

  1. Silver – 1/2 hr revision(WEEK TOTAL:  1/2 hr)
  2. Blue – draft 500 new words (WEEK TOTAL: 7,000 words)
  3. Green – read 100 pages(WEEK TOTAL: 800 pages)
  4. Gold – 1/2 hr studying Japanese (WEEK TOTAL:  6 hrs)
  5. Red – blog post (WEEK TOTAL: 1)
  6. NOT PICTURED – I’m tracking exercise and adult-like responsibilities in a separate baby-sized calendar also courtesy of Easter Seals.(WEEK TOTAL FOR EXERCISE: 3 times).
  7. TOTAL STICKERS: 36

Points of Note:

  • Ran outside twice with Big Sis. Really loving the idea of Spring.
  • Most of this week’s drafting stars were from a new short story, inspired partly by my new Team Zombie identity. Even if the Zombie trend is dead, well… I figure it’s bound to come back, right?
  • I do feel bad that I’ve been letting myself get distracted with short fic to the point that I haven’t been working on #FairyPrisonBook as much. So the goal for this week is, revise / draft more of that.

That’s it for this week. My other goal is to get out more often and have more interesting things to blog about, but like. It’s Iowa. So we’ll just see.

Thanks for reading,

Allison

Leave a Reply

