Friday Check-in: Week 12 – Easter!

IMG_20160323_074744In this episode of “marooning myself at a coffee shop to get work done,” I’m afraid my productivity was a bit lacking. In the midst of my work, I was alerted to a positive review of my story in UP AND COMING: STORIES FROM THE 2016 CAMPBELL-ELIGIBLE WRITERS. After that I kind of devolved into pleased giggling and the distraction of looking through short story drafts for anything near-ready to send out. Based on this reaction, I shudder to think of the results when I eventually discover a bad review. You still have about one more week to download my horror-fantasy tooth fairy short story, “Decay” (originally published at Crossed Genres) along with over 230 works by 120 other authors–over 1.1 million free words of fiction.

Other than that, not much of note. There are a few new livetweeted episodes of Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries under my livetweet sessions tab. On to books!

Green Star Reads for this week:

I finished THE FALLOUT,  by S.A. Bodeen, (sequel to THE COMPOUND) and I’m sorry to say that I was very un-thrilled. If I had not possessed the first book for so long, I probably would not have read to the end. As usual, an off-the-wall crack ship briefly made things more entertaining, especially as evidence seemingly appeared in the text… Then that ship was thoroughly sunk by the downright weird developments that followed. I enjoy the odd story of horrific weirdness, but this one just didn’t do it for me.

IMG_20160322_062233I worked my way through SOULLESS, by Gail Carriger, mainly out of curiosity after really enjoying the manga adaptation at my library. It was an interesting way to read–I knew when all the romantic scenes were coming! It was like a behind the scenes look!–and to be honest I think I enjoyed it more than I might have if I started with the novel version? All in all, it was a fun story, really enjoyable, and I found the world-building interesting. If I stumble across the sequels, I might give those a read, too.

I also found a cryptic index card wedged into the pages. At least, I can tell myself it’s cryptic, and therefore make my life more interesting.

I got through a bit more of REVISION AND SELF-EDITING, by James Scott Bell, and am just starting PAPER VALENTINE, by Brenna Yovanoff. FIENDISH is also on the agenda, because I could always use a little more horror in my life.

  • Soundtrack of the Week: Listened to a lot of Kishi Bashi. Soothed a headache with film scores from Miyazaki movies and Wolf Children: Ame & Yuki. Today, fell back into my villain playlist.
  • Go-to method of procrastination: Bringing Friend to tears with the end of Madoka Magica (still deliberating whether to put up on my Livetweets page). A headache that cut short one day. 😦 Looking for jobs, which is more something I’ve been procrastinating than a method of procrastination, but… I still don’t have a way to track that on-calendar.

Sticker Check-in

2016-03-25 19.24.23

CURRENT KEY

  1. Silver – 1/2 hr revision(WEEK TOTAL:  2 & 1/2 hr)
  2. Blue – draft 500 new words (WEEK TOTAL: 8,000 words)
  3. Green – read 100 pages(WEEK TOTAL: 800 pages)
  4. Gold – 1/2 hr studying Japanese (WEEK TOTAL:  3 hrs)
  5. Red – blog post (WEEK TOTAL: 1)
  6. NOT PICTURED – I’m tracking exercise and adult-like responsibilities in a separate baby-sized calendar also courtesy of Easter Seals.(WEEK TOTAL FOR EXERCISE: 1 time).
  7. TOTAL STICKERS: 36

Points of Note:

  • I keep forgetting my key and putting red stickers down for revision time. Covered them with silver, but ugh, what a waste of stickers.
  • Speaking of stickers, this week I wound up with the exact same number as last time. Huh.
  • Finished drafting a revision of a short story today… It is one of my weirdest and most horrific, I think. I swear, I don’t always write creepy things. It’s just…they seem to be turning out better than my less-creepy stories. Hm.
  • Did not quite meet last week’s goal of working more on #FairyPrisonBook than on short fic. Which is to say, I forgot about that goal. Let’s just roll it over to this week, shall we?

Thanks for reading, and Happy Easter!

Allison

IMG_20160323_074933
My Coffeeshop Friend. Very unproductive. Uses her lack of hands as an excuse.
Leave a Reply

