Awards Eligibility Post – 2017

Somehow, 2017 is already coming to a close, and even for writers who are woefully bad at blogging (like me) this means it’s time for Eligibility Posts.

Mine is probably coming a bit late, because it took me a while to remind myself that yes, Allison, some people may actually be interested in a list of what you’ve worked on this year. It took me a while to remember that 2017 has been a really good year for me, at least in comparison to the last two.

My first pro sale came at the end of 2015, and my Campbell-eligibility expired last year, with no new short stories boasting a 2016 publication date.

But in 2017, I published five short stories (two flash, three full-length) along with an audio reprint of that first sale. It’s been a strange year, meeting some goals, falling short of others, and stumbling into a few accomplishments I never even thought to shoot for.

But I won’t ramble on in this post. For now–the main event–here are links to my awards-eligible short stories from this year:

Collecting Jessup” (IGMS – links to excerpt) – a fairly light, sweet fantasy considering it starts with a kidnapping.

THE ZOMBEE PROJECT 3.0” (Escape Pod) – audio & print, scifi, part of their Artemis Rising event showcasing women and nonbinary authors. As you may have guessed, it involves bees, and zombies, and a project.

Where the Demon Lives” (T. Gene Davis’s Speculative Blog) – flash, horror, about a demon fingernail.

Hell Sat and Bantered” (IGMS – links to excerpt) – fantasy, fun with anagrams and three generations of oracles…oh and also a pretty toxic relationship.

If We Live to Be Giants” (Fireside Fiction) – flash, fantasy, about two half-Giant girls, and about how family can surprise you–in bad ways, and in good.

Also Forthcoming:

“The Creation of Penelope Pine” (IGMS) – fantasy, horror. I believe this is posting sometime in December, so, eligible. But alas, no word on an exact date yet. I realize this may be less than helpful.

[EDIT: It’s up! As of Christmas, 2017, With a lovely illustration.]

 

Thanks for reading, and here’s looking forward to the year to come!

Allison Mulder

 

2 thoughts on “Awards Eligibility Post – 2017

  1. Centranz December 19, 2017 / 5:46 pm

    Nice answer back in return of this matter with solid arguments and explaining all regarding that.

Leave a comment